Past winners

Learning Technologist of the Year Awards

Learning Technologist of the Year Awards 2017


Here we list the individuals and teams who have received awards to recognise outstanding achievements in the Learning Technology field and the promotion of intelligent use of Learning Technology on a national scale. If you would like to find further information on the winners, visit the past awards page. Find out about this year's awards and how to enter


Individual Winners


Winner - Chrissi Nerantzi, Manchester Metropolitan University

Second place - Ashwin Mehta, Medical Research Council

Third place - Richard Beggs, Ulster University

Community Choice Award (as voted for by the community) - also Ashwin Mehta, Medical Research Council


Winner - Daniel Scott, Barnsley College

Runner-up - Chrissi Nerantzi, Manchester Metropolitan University

Highly commended - David Watson, Hong Kong Polytechnic University; Fiona MacNeill, University of Brighton; Iain Griffin, University of Northampton


Winner - Joel Mills, acting Head of TEL, University of Hull, then Technology Enhanced Learning Advisor, University of Hull

Runner-up - John Kerr, Learning Innovation Officer, College of Social Sciences, University of Glasgow

Highly commended - Luke Burns, Teaching Fellow, School of Geography, University of Leeds


Winner - James Pickering, Lecturer in Anatomy, School of Medicine, University of Leeds @accessanatomy

Joint runners-up - Jade Kelsall, e-Learning Technologist, University of Manchester Library @jadekelsall and James Kieft, Group Learning and Development Manager, Activate Learning, then eLearning and Resources Manager, Reading College @james_kieft

Highly commended - Tom Andrew, ILT Development Coordinator, Aylesbury College @tomandrewuk; David Hopkins, eLearning Consultant, Warwick Business School @hopkinsdavid and Matthew Homewood, Principal Lecturer in European Union Law and Learning and Teaching Coordinator, Nottingham Law School, Nottingham Trent University @mjhomewood


Winner - Sheila MacNeill, Senior Lecturer in Digital Learning at Glasgow Caledonian University, thenJisc Cetis

Runner-up - Gloria Visintini, University of Bristol


Winners - Steph Ladbrooke, Pedmore CofE Primary School and Philip Tubman, Learning Technology Group, Information Systems Services, Lancaster University

Highly commended - David Renton, Extended Lecturer in Computing at Reid Kerr College; James Pickering, University of Leeds and Andy Smith, Blackpool & The Fylde College


Winners - Oliver Quinlan, Senior Research Manager at the Raspberry Pi Foundation, then Robin Hood Primary School, South Birmingham, UK and John Rutherford, Marlborough School Science College, St Albans, Hertfordshire, UK

Runner-up - Neil Morris, Faculty of Biological Sciences at the University of Leeds

Highly commended - Michael Thrussell, Henshaws College, Harrogate, Yorkshire


Winners - Cristina Costa, Research and Graduate College at the University of Salford and Kevin McLaughlin, St Peter’s Church of England Primary School, Whetstone, Leicestershire

Runner-up - Mike Wald, School of Electronics and Computer Science at the University of Southampton

Highly commended - Terese Bird, Beyond Distance Research Alliance at the University of Leicester


Joint Winners - James Clay, Gloucestershire College and Dr Vivien Rolfe, De Montfort University’s School of Allied Health Sciences

Highly commended - David Payne, Middlesbrough College


Winner - Josie Fraser

Highly commended - Stuart Hepplestone, Sheffield Hallam University


Joint Winners - Philip Cosson, School of Health and Social Care at the University of Teesside and Hannah Whaley, The Learning Centre at the University of Dundee

Runner-up - PebblePad Development Team from Pebble Learning Ltd, Wolverhampton


Team Winners


Joint winners - Monash College - Central eLearning Team, Australia and Technology Enhanced Learning Team, University of Sheffield

Second place - Ashwin Mehta, Medical Research Council

Third place - Richard Beggs, Ulster University


Winner - Learning Technology and Innovation team, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

Second place - Learning Technology Team, University of Northampton

Highly commended - Tavistock & Portman TEL Unit



Winner - Digital Learning Team, University of Leeds

Runner-up - Academic Support, Technology and Innovation (ASTI), University of Plymouth

Highly commended - Ebola in Context: Understanding Transmission, Response and Control MOOC Team, London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine

Highly commended - Technology Enhanced Learning for Medicine and Dentistry (TELMeD), Peninsula Schools of Medicine and Dentistry, Plymouth University

Community Choice Award (as voted for by the community) jointly awarded to - Academic Support, Technology and Innovation, University of Plymouth AND Technology Enhanced Learning for Medicine and Dentistry (TELMeD), Peninsula Schools of Medicine and Dentistry, Plymouth University


Winner - The LearnTech Team, University of Northampton

Runners-up - The DigiLit Leicester Project Team, Leicester City Council and De Montfort University; and The eTargets project team, ARK Bentworth Primary Academy

Highly commended - Red Balloon of the Air


Winner - The Film Buffs, Hull College

Runners-up - Talk Aloud, Michael Faraday School and Keele Active Virtual Environment (KAVE) Team, Keele University

Highly commended - Promoting Academic Resources in Sustainability (PARiS) Team, University of Nottingham amd Tek5 Team, New College Nottingham

Special Award for Learners - Lizzie May and Ryan Morton, Students at Sheffield Hallam University and Tek5 Team, Students at New College Nottingham


Winner - Lambeth City Learning Centre

Runners-up - Team SCARLET, University of Manchester and Skills @ Library, University of Leeds


Winner - In-Folio Implementation Team based on JISC Techdis, The Rix Centre, The National College for Young People with Epilepsy, Portland College and National Star College, UK

Joint second prize - Learning Teaching and Technology Centre (LTTC) Team from the Dublin Institute of Technology (DIT), Ireland and The Open Nottingham Team from the University of Nottingham, UK


Winner - The TALL team from the Department for Continuing Education at the University of Oxford

Runner-up - The Digital Learning Team at the National Institute of Adult Continuing Education (NIACE)

Highly commended - The Bloomsbury Learning Environment Technical Team from Birkbeck, the Institute of Education, the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine, the Royal Veterinary College, and the School of Oriental and African Studies


Joint Winners - The Xerte Project Team, University of Nottingham and The Beyond Distance Research Alliance, University of Leicester

Highly commended - The LSN MoLeNET Mentoring Team


Winner - The Learning Technology Group at Lancaster University

Highly commended - The Learning Technology Team at London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine; The Technology Directorate at Ufi learndirect