OER22 Conference Committee

The OER Conference Committee plays a vital role and our volunteers contribute their time and expertise including undertaking peer review, chairing sessions and organising local and social activities during the conference. The Committee meets every month and is chaired by the Conference Co-Chairs. This year we are asking volunteers to indicate if they are planning to attend the event online or in person.

Committee meetings

All meetings start at 14:00 GMT. The link to join the meeting is circulated via the Committee mailing list. 

Meeting 1: Thursday 13 January

This meeting provides an opportunity for Committee Members to meet and introduce themselves, Co-Chairs and staff team We will focus on promoting the Call for Proposals and encouraging submissions. We will also go through the timetable for peer review starting in February. 

Meeting 2:Thursday 10 February 

The focus for this meeting is on the peer review process and programme. The deadline for submissions is on the day of the meeting and we will go through guidance for reviewers and provide support for using the submission and review system. 

Meeting 3:Thursday 10 March 

This meeting will focus on the draft programme for the conference and confirm plans for the blended delivery of the event. 

Meeting 4: Thursday 14 April 

The final committee meeting is all about the event, session delivery and social programme. 

Committee activities

  • Peer Review: A key focus of the Conference Committee is to conduct the peer review of all proposals submitted to the conference once the Call for Proposals has been closed. Guidance for Reviewers will be available soon and we also provide support at committee meetings.
  • Guest posts: Committee Members are invited to write guest posts for publication on the conference platform, sharing their perspective on the event, looking back at past years or sharing advice and guidance for new authors and participants. Please send your post to enquiries@alt.ac.uk
  • Promoting the conference: Help us spread the word about the conference and upcoming deadlines, keynote speakers and the social programme. Use #OER22 on social media .
  • Chairing sessions: Conference Committee Members volunteer to chair all sessions during the event. We’ll be publishing details of how to volunteer together with guidance in due course.

Meet the Committee

The Committee meets every month and is chaired by the Conference Co-Chairs, Beck Pitt, Francisco Iniesc,  Kylie Matthews, Martin Weller and Rob Fellow.

Alan Levine

Open Education Global

Anne-Marie Scott


Aras Bozkurt

Anadolu University

Bea de los Arcos

Delft Technical University

Carina Bossu

The Open University

Catherine Cronin



Catriona Matthews

Cambridge Education Group Digital

Chrissi Nerantzi

Manchester Metropolitan University

Deanna McGaughey-Summers

Kentucky State University

Debbie Baff


Dr Khuliso Sigama

Tshwane University of Technology

Dr Zeta dooly

Waterford Institute of Technology

Dr. Abhay Gupta

Maa Narmada Mahavidyalaya

Dr. Daithi Ó Murchú

Dublin West Education Centre

Dr.Deepika Kohli

Khalsa College of Education

Evamaria Brigitta Kaiser

Medienstimmreich GmbH

Gabi Witthaus

University of Birmingham (work); Lancaster University (Student)

Gemma Tur

University of the Balearic Islands

Giovanna Carloni

University of Urbino

Glenda Cox

University of Cape Town

Helen DeWaard

Lakehead University

Hilal Yildiz

TED University

James Cantwell


Javiera Atenas


John Okewole


Kate Lindsay


Kate Molloy

NUI Galway

Kathy Essmiller

Oklahoma State University

Lauren Hanks

Reclaim Hosting

Leo Havemann

Open University & University College London

Mandar Bhanushe

University of Mumbai

Michael Dabrowski 


Nick Baker

University of Windsor

Sai Gattupalli

University of Massachusetts Amherst

Samantha Peter

University of Wyoming Libraries

Teeroumanee Nadan

Independent Researcher

Teresa Mackinnon

Chair of Open Education SIG

Tranum Kaur

University of Windsor

Vanessa Mar-Molinero

University of Southampton

Verena Roberts

Thompson Rivers University

Yuhong Lei

Lancaster University

Keen to get involved? 

The Call for the Committee closed on 1 January 2022. If you have missed the deadline and would still like to get involved, please contact us and we will do our best to help.