Announcing the Judging Panel for the Learning Technologist of the Year Awards 2021

We are delighted to announce that we have now finalised our judging panel for the 2021 Learning Technologist of the Year Awards. 

The panel will shortlist the entries based on their completed entry forms. Shortlisted candidates will then be invited for an interview, and finalists are then invited to our Awards Ceremony as part of the Annual Conference in September! Finalists are also entered into our Community Choice Award, which is voted for by you! Details on voting will be available in August - keep an eye on our Twitter page.

Our panel is chaired by the President of ALT, David White, and is made up of Learning Technology professionals from across the globe. Some are also previous winners of the awards. The 2021 panel are:

Team Award Judges:

  • Matt East, Talis Education LTD

  • Neil Hughes, University of Nottingham

  • Bob Harrison, University of Wolverhampton/Northern College

  • Rosemarie Mcllwhan, Heriot-Watt University

  • Louise Rowland, Ufi VocTech Trust

  • Santanu Vasantu, University of West London

Individual Award Judges:

  • Richard Harris, Raynes Park High School

  • David White, University of the Arts London

  • Lorna Campbell, University of Edinburgh

Research Award Judges: 

  • Michael Flavin, king's College London

  • Tunde Varga-Atkins, Centre for Innovation in Education | University of Liverpool

  • James Brunton, Dublin City University


How to make an entry - open until 25 June 2021: 

Now in their 15th year, our Learning Technologist of the Year Awards 2021 will take place as part of the Online Winter Conference in December 2021.

The ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Awards celebrate and reward excellent research and practice and outstanding achievement in Learning Technology. Established in 2007, the Awards have established a benchmark for outstanding achievement in Learning Technology on a national scale and attract competitive entries from the UK and internationally.

The Awards are open for entries until 25 June 2021. To enter, you need to complete all sections of the appropriate online entry form. Entries will be judged on the basis of the information you provide and the evidence you refer to. We acknowledge all entries via email.

  • Entry Form A: Learning Technologist of the Year (individual or teams)

  • Entry Form B: Learning Technology Research Project of the Year 

Entries for individuals, teams and research projects are open until 25 June.

You can find out more about the awards here: