2016 Winners of the Learning Technologist of the Year Awards

Each year since 2007 we have come together to recognise outstanding achievements in the learning technology field and the promotion of intelligent use of Learning Technology on a national scale. Selected by a panel of judges from across sectors chaired by Professor Martin Weller, Chair of the Association, the finalists compete to be awarded one of the prestigious Learning Technologist of the Year Awards. The Awards were presented jointly by Toby Yeung from CoSector, Melissa Highton representing the judging panel and conference keynote speaker Josie Fraser.

This year’s winners who are being recognised are Daniel Scott, from Barnsley College, winner of the Individual Award, and the Learning Technology and Innovation team, London School of Economics and Political Science who won the Team Award.

Speaking about his win, Daniel said “I am extremely proud and overwhelmed at winning this prestigious award.  It’s such a good feeling to be recognised both nationally and internationally for my individual efforts and milestones that I have achieved throughout my professional journey. A big thank you to the panel for making the decision and thank you to the wider learning technology community that inspire me with their research and good practice.”. The Director of Teaching and Learning at Barnsely College, Karen Markham, added “I am really pleased and happy that Dan has won this Award as it recognises his passion for technology and the journey he has undertaken in his own professional development.”

Representing the winning team meanwhile, Peter Bryant, Head of Learning Technology and Innovation at LSE, said "LSE are proud to be selected as the Learning Technology team of the year, especially in its 10th year.  This recognition by our peers is a celebration of the innovative work being done by academic and LTI staff to better the student experience and provide more opportunities for engaging, positive and transformational education with technology." . His colleague Darren Moon, Senior Learning Technologist at LSE, added "As an initiative, Students as Producers has provided a framework for the development of a diverse range of teaching projects; from digital storytelling through to documentary production. In each case, it has been about realising a vision for assessment diversification that is complementary to the best of existing practice; to develop synergies where new digital pedagogies can be integrated to extend opportunities, enrich student experiences, and enhance learning outcomes. ALT's Learning Technologist of the Year awards is among the highest accolades in our profession. That LSE LTI's Students as Producers initiative has been recognised in this, the tenth year of the awards, makes it all the more special. To now find ourselves in the company of previous winners is a great honour. The success of Students as Producers has only been made possible by the inspiration and effort of those LSE teaching colleagues with whom we have collaborated on these projects.”

Alongside them we also celebrate the achievements of ALL Finalists. They are:

Individual Awards

  • Highly commended entries:
    • David Watson, Hong Kong Polytechnic University
    • Fiona MacNeill, University of Brighton
    • Iain Griffin, University of Northampton
  • Runner up:
    • Chrissi Nerantzi, Manchester Metropolitan University
  • Winner:
    • Daniel Scott, Barnsley College

Team Awards

  • Highly commended entries:
    • The eLearning Team, University of Brighton
    • Educational Design and Engagement (EDE) part of Learning, Teaching and Web Services (LTW), University of Edinburgh (UoE)
    • Digital Education Team, University of Lincoln
    • ILT Team, Heart of Worcestershire College
  • Third place:
    • The Open Education Team, University of Edinburgh
  • Runner up:
    • Health E-learning and Media (HELM) team, School of Health Sciences, University of Nottingham
  • Winner:
    • Learning Technology and Innovation team, London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE)

And the Community Choice Award, determined through an open voting process, was awarded to Health E-learning and Media (HELM) team, School of Health Sciences, University of Nottingham.

The Awards were judged by a panel chaired by Martin Weller, Chair of ALT and Professor of Educational Technology at the Open University. The panel included:

  • Joel Mills - Technology Enhanced Learning Advisor, University of Hull and last year’s winner in the individual category;
  • Carol Elston - Digital Learning Team, University of Leeds and last year’s winner in the team category;
  • Melissa Highton - Director of Learning, Teaching and Web and Assistant Principal for Online Learning, University of Edinburgh;
  • Vivien Rolfe - Associate Head of Department, University of the West of England and ALT Open Education SIG co-chair;
  • James McDowell - Director of Teaching and Learning, School of Computing and Engineering