Announcing the Judging Panel for the Learning Technologist of the Year Awards 2020

We are delighted to announce that we have now finalised our judging panel for the 2020 Learning Technologist of the Year Awards. 

Entries for individuals, teams and research projects are open until 25 March.

The ALT Learning Technologist of the Year Awards celebrate and reward excellent research and practice and outstanding achievement in Learning Technology. Established in 2007, the Awards have established a benchmark for outstanding achievement in Learning Technology on a national scale and attract competitive entries from the UK and internationally. 

Our panel is chaired by the President of ALT, Martin Weller, and is made up of Learning Technology professionals from across the globe. Some are also previous winners of the awards. The 2020 panel are:


Team & Individual Award Judges:

  • Martin Weller - President of ALT 

  • Matt Cornock - Online CPD Coordinator, STEM Learning

  • Lizzie Seymour - Learning Technology Officer, The Royal Zoological Society of Scotland

  • Sharon Flynn - Project Manager Enhancing Digital Teaching & Learning, Irish Universities Association

  • Peter Bryant - Associate Dean (Education) and Associate Professor of Business, University of Sydney

  • Karen Howie - Head of Digital Learning Applications & Media, University of Edinburgh


Research Project Award Judges:

  • Michael Flavin - Senior Lecturer in Global Education, Kings College London

  • Gail Wilson - Associate Professor, Southern Cross University, Australia

  • Yi-Shan Tsai  - Research Associate, University of Edinburgh

  • Richard Walker -  Head of the Programme Design and Learning Technology Team, University of York

The panel will shortlist the entries based on their completed entry forms. Shortlisted candidates will then be invited for interview, and finalists are then invited to our Awards Ceremony as part of the Annual Conference in September! Finalists are also entered into our Community Choice Award, which is voted for by you! Details on voting will be available in August - keep an eye on our Twitter page

The Awards are still open for entries, through until 25 March 2020. The categories are Team, Individual, and Research Project. To enter, you need to complete all sections of the appropriate online entry form. Entries will be judged on the basis of the information you provide and the evidence you refer to. We acknowledge all entries via email. 

The closing date for entries is Wednesday, 25 March 2020 for all categories.

  • Entry Form A: Learning Technologist of the Year (individual or teams)

  • Entry Form B: Learning Technology Research Project of the Year