

21st Annual General Meeting

Tuesday 2 September 2014 Held at the Main Theatre, University of Warwick Arts Centre, Warwick, UK

Presiding – Claire Donlan, President

1. Recorded attendance and apologies

Individual members

Akram Ameen, Yvonne Bain, Diane E. Bennett, Haydn Blackey, Alastair Clark, Daniel Clark, James Clay, Sarah Cornelius, Andy Coulthard, Linda Creanor, Hugh Davis, Nigel Ecclesfield, Shirley Evans, Barineme Fakae, Tom Franklin, Kerr Gardiner, Hilary Griffiths, Doug Gowan, Martin Hawksey, Amanda Jefferies, Nigel Jones, Simon Kear, Jacqui Kelly, Diana Laurillard, Matt Lingard, Elizabeth Masterman, Darren Moon, Martin Moran, Catherine Naamani, Meg O'Reilly, Seb Schmoller, Sarah Sherman, Matt Smith, Simon Thomson, Steven Verjans, Julie Voce, Ros Walker, Matthew West.

<u>Representing organisational members (some organisational representatives are also individual members in their own right)</u>

Paul Bacsich (SERO), Linda Creanor (Glasgow Caledonian University), Hugh Davis (University of Southampton), Nigel Ecclesfield (JISC), Alex Furr (University of Southampton), Kerr Gardiner (University of Glasgow), Richard Goodman (Loughborough University), Sonja Grussendorf (London School of Economics), Fiona Harvey (University of Southampton), Rob Howe (University of Northampton), Nigel Jones (Cardiff Metropolitan University), Megan Juss (Edge Hill University), Diana Laurillard (Institute of Education), Matt Lingard (University of West London), Sheila MacNeill (Glasgow Caledonian University), Elizabeth Masterman (University of Oxford), Darren Moon (London School of Economics and Political Science), Martin Moran (Study Group), Anna Ruff (University of Southampton), Tamsin Smith (University of Southampton), Justin Steele-Davis (University of Southampton), Simon Thomson (Leeds Metropolitan University), Steven Verjans (Open University), Julie Voce (Imperial College London), Mira Vogel (University College London), Matthew West (Keele University), Joe Wilson (Scottish Qualifications Authority), Neil Witt (Plymouth University).

Visitors

Peter Bryant, Stephan Caspar

<u>Staff</u>

Anna Davidge, Maren Deepwell, Caroline Greves, Martin Hawksey, John Slater, Allison Stevens, Elizabeth Wyatt.

2. Apologies

None.

3. Appointment of two Tellers

Hugh Davies and Tom Franklin were appointed.

4. Approval of the Minutes of last general meeting held in Nottingham on 11 September 2013

The minutes of the 2013 AGM were approved a true record, proposed by Nigel Ecclesfield and seconded by Linda Creanor. There were no matters arising (item 5).

6. Annual Report and Accounts for 2013-2014

Copies of the audited accounts had been distributed to those in attendance and made available online in advance of the meeting. Claire Donlan introduced the report, thanking Trustees, committee members and ALT staff for their work over the year and noting in particular the launch of the new 2014-2017 strategy, the development of communication channels and the second successful run of ocTEL. Claire gave further thanks to James Clay (Committee for Further Education and cross-sector engagement), Matt Lingard (Committee for Communication and Publications) and Shirley Evans (Committee for Membership Development) for their work as chairs of ALT's committees during the year.

Haydn Blackey (Honorary Treasurer) then gave a brief overview of the audited accounts, noting that the accounts showed a negative balance, which reflected Trustees decision to invest part of the bequest, using the extra resources to develop ALT's international engagement, new communication materials and online services. Aside from the bequest a small operational surplus had been generated over the year. Haydn further highlighted that one of the challenges faced over the past year had been finance staff changes and went on to thank ALT's new Finance Officer Jane Frankel for her work during the 2013-2014 financial year and Maren Deepwell managing the transition and the production of the accounts. Haydn then took questions from the floor, focused on the increase spending for staff costs, which reflected the increased project workload taken on.

Haydn Blackey proposed and Alastair Clark seconded the motion that the 2013-2014 Annual Report and Accounts be approved, and the motion was carried 53 votes in favour, none against, with one abstention.

7. Appointment of an Auditor for the 2014-2015 Accounts

Claire Donlan proposed from the Chair that Shaw Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, be reappointed as Auditors. This was seconded by James Clay and agreed without a vote.

8. Move to Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO) status

Claire Donlan then introduced the resolution to move to Charitable Incorporated Organisation Status and handed over to Doug Gowan, who provided an overview of the proposed changes and resolution. As part of Trustees work to inform and consult members, copies of the resolution and the draft constitution had been circulated previously and discussed at an open online session prior to the AGM and were available at the meeting. Doug then proposed the motion to approve the move to Charitable Incorporated Organisation (CIO) status. The motion was seconded by Alastair Clark and approved by 58 votes for, none against and no abstentions.

9. Brief verbal report from Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive

Maren Deepwell covered three main points in her report:

1. On behalf of the Trustees of ALT Lesley Gourley was thanked for her leading work as coeditor of ALT's journal, Research in Learning Technology. Also receiving thanks for their important work for the ALT newsletter were Frank Steiner and Liz Bennett, who stepped down as Deputy Editors. Claire noted their thanks in their absence;

2. Together with Trustees and members Maren then welcomed two new Ambassadors for

ALT, Joe Wilson and Dick Moore. Joe and Dick took up their role with immediate effect; 3. Darren Moon was then called forward to receive a special award for his outstanding work in the online community conference delivery as a member of ALT, working together with Martin Hawksey;

3. Maren then thanked ALT members and Trustees for their strong support and engagement over the past year on behalf of the staff team.

10. Elections to Trustee vacancies.

a) a **Vice-Chair of the Association** (an ex-officio member of the Central Executive Committee who will become Chair in September 2015, and President in September 2016)

Claire Donlan announced that Fiona Harvey has been elected unopposed as Vice-Chair of ALT, and as an ALT Trustee. Fiona will progress next year to be Chair of ALT and to be President the year after.

b) Election to two vacancies to serve a three year term on the ALT Central executive Committee

Claire Donlan announced that Sheila MacNeill and Malcolm Ryan had been elected unopposed to serve a three year term on the ALT Central Executive Committee and as ALT Trustees.

11. Handover to new President

Prior to standing down as President, Claire Donlan thanked retiring Trustees Norbert Pachler and Vanessa Pittard for their service to ALT as Trustees. She then handed over to Diana Laurillard, who will take over as President immediately after the conference. Diana then thanked Claire for her three years of service to ALT, also thanking her personally for her support in her role as Vice-Chair and then Chair in the preceding two years. Diana noted that Claire has agreed to continue serving as a Trustee of ALT, having not reached the maximum permitted term of service. Members and Trustees showed their thanks and appreciated in the usual way.

Written by Maren Deepwell, 11/9/14, and reviewed by Claire Donlan, 16 September 2014.