Association for Learning Technology

Minutes of the 15th Annual General Meeting, Leeds, 10th September 2008

Presiding: Linda Creanor

1 Recorded attendance and apologies

1.1 Individual members

Malcolm Read, Mike Keppell, Gilly Salmon, Carol Higgison, Robin Mason, Frank Rennie, Paul Bacsich, Bob Banks, Elizabeth Bennett, Janet Buchan, Jacqueline Dempster, Anne Dickinson, John Gray, Marion Miller, Nora Mogey, Julie Voce, Peter Whitton, Gayle Calverley, Irmgard Huppe, Dick Moore, John Phelps, Steve Ryan, Brian Whalley, Helen Whitehead, Andy Black, Jonathan Darby, Isobel Falconer, Tom Franklin, Fred Pickering, Jane Seale, Matthew West, Nicola Whitton, Ashley Wright, Tim Denning.

1.2 Representing organisational members (some organisational representatives are also individual members in their own right)

Dick Moore, Ufi/learndirect; Malcolm Read, JISC; Cathy Gunn, ascilite; Amanda Jefferies, University of Hertfordshire; Gilly Salmon, University of Leicester; Alice Bird, Liverpool John Moore University; Nora Mogey, University of Edinburgh, Brian Mothusi Mooketsi, Botswana Training Authority.

1.3 Staff

Marion Samler, Mark van Harmelen, Seb Schmoller, Sue Garrett.

1.4 Visitors

Richard Millwood, Haydn Blackey, Rhona Sharpe, Ashley Wright, Tim Denning, Hannah Whaley, Debra Morris.

1.5 Apologies

Cathy Ellis (Chair)

2 Appointment of Tellers

Tom Franklin and Isobel Falconer were appointed as Tellers.

3 2007-2008 Annual Report and Accounts

(This item was taken first to allow John Slater, Honorary Treasurer, to leave the meeting in time to catch a train.) John Slater gave a brief overview of the 2007-2008 Annual Report and Accounts, which had been provided to conference participants on their arrival. The report and accounts were approved, proposed by Tom Franklin, seconded by Gilly Salmon, and with 47 votes in favour and none against, and no abstentions.

John Slater left the meeting at this point.

4 2007 AGM

The minutes of the 2007 AGM were approved, proposed by Haydn Blackey and seconded by Tom Franklin. There were no matters arising.

5 Trustee Vacancies

At this point Steve Ryan, out-going Vice-Chair of ALT, took the Chair in view of Linda Creanor's personal interest in the result of the election.

The AGM noted that this year ALT's elections had been conducted on behalf of ALT by Electoral Reform Services. ERS had run a postal and online ballot vote of the membership as a whole, with the election conducted using the single transferable vote system. (In previous years voting has taken place amongst those attending the ALT conference.)

The results of the elections were declared as follows:

5.1 Vice-chair

Carol Higgison. Carol will become Chair of ALT in September 2009, and President in September 2010.

5.2 Additional Trustee Vacancies (2)

Linda Creanor and Nicola Whitton. Each will serve a three year term.

6 Signing of renewed Memoranda of Understanding

Two renewed Memoranda of Understanding were signed. The first is between ALT and **ascilite** (the Australasian Society for Computers in Learning in Tertiary Education). The second is between ALT and JISC.

7 Appointment of Auditors

It was agreed to appoint Shaw Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, as Auditors for the 2008-2009 Accounts, proposed by Linda Creanor and seconded by Steve Ryan.

8 Handover to new President

Linda Creanor stood down as President, handing over to Cathy Ellis, the retiring Chair. We presented retiring trustees Dawn Leeder, Paul Bacsich, and Tom Franklin with special ALT paperweights (designed by founder member Ray McAleese, and made by Peter Holmes of Selkirk Glass) in recognition of their work for ALT as Trustees. A paperweight will also be given to John Slater, who was thanked in particular for his helpful advice and work for ALT as Honorary Treasurer, from which role he now stands down.

Written by Seb Schmoller, 10/9/2008, and 17/8/2009. Reviewed by Linda Creanor, 2007-2008 President, 18/8/2009.