# **Association for Learning Technology**

# Minutes of the 12th Annual General Meeting, Manchester, 7<sup>th</sup> September 2005

#### 1 Attendance

# 1.1 Individuals and those representing organisations

John Slater (Honorary Treasurer), Rose Masisi, John Stratford, Gwyneth Hughes, Lisa Whistlecroft, Pete Richardson, Amber Thomas, David Hume, Malcolm Ryan, Tom Franklin, Tom Boyle, Bernard Scott, George Roberts, Steve Ryan, Robert Ross, Louisa Dale, Malcolm Read, Susan Moron-Garcia, John Phelps, Gayle Calverley (Honorary Secretary), Jane Seale (Vice Chair), Barbara Newland, Paul Bacsich, Patrick James, Carmen Mortara, Bob Banks, Jonathan Darby, Robert Harding, Linda Creanor, Amanda Jefferies, Dawn Leeder, John Cook (Chair), Seb Schmoller (Executive Secretary), Stephen Brown (President).

### 1.2 Staff

Marion O'Dea (Operations Manager), Rhonda Riachi (Director), Seb Schmoller (Executive Secretary).

#### 1.3 Apologies

Nick Jeans, Cathy Ellis, Keith Duckitt, Jay Dempster, Richard Elliott, Anne Jones, Sue McKnight.

#### 2 2004 AGM

The minutes of the 2004 AGM were approved, proposed by George Roberts and seconded by Tom Franklin. There were no matters arising.

# 3 Annual Report

The 2004-2005 Annual Report was approved, proposed by Paul Bacsich and seconded by Jonathan Darby, and we agreed to record our thanks to George Roberts, the outgoing Chair of ALT's Events Committee.

# 4 Election of Tellers

We approved the appointment of Rhonda Riachi and Bob Banks as Tellers.

# 5 Election of Scrutineers

We approved the appointment of Richard McKenna and Marion O'Dea as Scrutineers.

# 6 Amendments to the Constitution

The meeting considered a document that had been circulated to members during August, and containing proposals from the Central Executive Committee for wide-ranging amendments to the ALT Constitution. We noted that under rule a two thirds majority is required for any constitutional changes.

We agreed the following.

- 1. To refer the proposed new Clause 8.3 back for future consideration by the Central Executive Committee, retaining the current Clause 7.2 in its place. Proposed by Malcolm Read, seconded by John Slater. **Voting:** 32 votes in favour, 0 against, 2 abstentions.
- 2. To accept all other proposed amendments en bloc. **Voting:** 35 votes in favour, 0 against, 0 abstentions.

The revised ALT Constitution is attached to these minutes for reference.

### 7 Trustee Vacancies

### 7.1 Vice-chair

Linda Creanor was elected unopposed to serve as Vice-Chair of the Association for 2005-2006, and as a Trustee for the next 3 years, nominated by Terry Mayes and seconded by Doug Gowan.

### 7.2 Additional Trustee Vacancy

Stephen Brown outlined the balloting process for electing two additional trustees, from amongst the three candidates who had been nominated and seconded by the August deadline. The results of the ballot (announced later on 7/9/2005) were as follows:

Tom Franklin, nominated by Stephen Brown, seconded by Jane Seale

Dawn Leeder, nominated by John Cook, seconded by John Norman

#### 8 Audited Accounts

John Slater (Honorary Treasurer) presented the Annual Accounts, thanking the previous Treasurer, Paul Bacsich for his guidance during John's first year as Treasurer, and the ALT Operations Manager, Marion O'Dea, for her untiring work in efficiently deploying new financial systems for ALT's benefit during the year. We agreed to approve the accounts, proposed by Robert Hardy, and seconded Jane Seale.

# 9 Appointment of Auditors

We appointed Edmund Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, as Auditors for the 2005-2006 Accounts, proposed by Paul Bacsich, and seconded by Bob Banks.

#### 10 Handover to new President

Stephen Brown stood down as President, handing over to John Cook, retiring Chair. We noted our thanks to Stephen, and presented him with a paperweight (designed by founder member Ray McAleese, and made by Peter Holmes of Selkirk Glass) for his work for ALT as a Trustee for the past 6 years, and as Vice-chair, Chair, and President over the previous 3 years.

Written by Seb Schmoller, 7/9/2005, and 27/6/2006 Reviewed by John Cook, President, 28/06/06