

Annual General Meeting 2018 - Agenda

The 4th Annual General Meeting of the Association for Learning Technology (CIO no. 1160039), takes place on Wednesday, 12th September 2018 - 16.45 in Lecture Theatre B. University Place, University of Manchester. All documents for the AGM can be accessed via the <u>ALT website</u>.

Time	Item	Agenda item	Actions	
16.45	1	Welcome from the Chair and President of ALT Sheila MacNeill and Martin Weller will welcome all and share highlights from the past year.	Use the sign-in sheets provided to record your attendance. We will note apologies.	
16.55	2	Approval of the Minutes of last Annual General Meeting held in Liverpool on 6th September 2017 as an accurate record of the meeting. View the minutes here.Martin Weller w for a Proposer a Seconder to ap the minutes.		
17.00	3	Matters arising from the Minutes of the last general meeting (if any)	-	
17.05	4	Annual Report and Accounts for 2017-18 Daniel Clark, Honorary Treasurer of ALT, will report to the meeting and take questions. The Annual Reports and Accounts are available from the AGM page and printed copies will be circulated.	Daniel Clark will ask for a Proposer and Seconder for the resolution to approve the accounts.	
17.15	5	Appointment of an Auditor for the 2018-2019 Accounts Members will be asked to vote to re-appoint David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, as Auditors.	Martin Weller will ask for a Proposer and Seconder to appoint the auditor.	
17.20	6	Award of Honorary Life Membership Sheila MacNeill and Martin Weller will present this year's Award to an individual who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the advancement of ALT's aims for the development of learning technology.	-	
17.25	7	Changes to the Constitution Sheila MacNeill and Maren Deepwell will provide an overview of the changes proposed to ensure ALT's governance has greater long term stability and is in line	We will ask for a Proposer and Seconder for the resolutions which will	

		with best practice recommended by the Charity Commission. Members will then vote on the 2 resolutions, first to adopt the updated constitution, and then to approve Trustee appointments.	then be put to a vote.
17.35	8	Chair's Award and thanks Sheila MacNeill will present the first Chair's Award and together with Martin Weller thank all Members and Trustees who are coming to the end of their terms of service.	-
17.45	9 CMALT Ceremony As the closing highlight of this year's AGM, all Members who have achieved or renewed their CMALT accreditation in the past 12 months will be invited onto the stage for the first annual CMALT Ceremony.		-
		Close of meeting	

Important Information about the AGM

Who can attend the AGM?

The AGM is open to all and everyone is welcome. Please use the sign-in sheets provided to record your attendance even if you are not a Member.

Who is eligible to vote?

All Members with the exception of Associate Members are eligible to vote. Members who hold a membership in their own right and also represent a Member Organisation are eligible to vote twice, once for each membership they hold.

How to vote at the AGM (in person)

If you are present at the AGM, you will vote by show of hands. If you are not able to participate in person, please use the proxy voting arrangements set out below.

How to vote at the AGM (proxy voting arrangements and forms)

Deadline 17.00 BST, 31 August 2018.

Individual members and the representatives of organisational, partner or sponsoring members who cannot be present in person at the AGM are entitled to vote by proxy, by appointing Martin Weller, Chair of ALT, or a colleague, to cast a proxy vote on their behalf.

If you wish to vote by proxy, here is what to do:

- 1. Decide whether you wish to direct your proxy to vote as she/he chooses on your behalf, or whether you wish to direct her/his vote as you instruct.
- 2. Complete all relevant sections of the proxy voting form below, remembering to sign (electronic signatures are acceptable) and date it.
- 3. Email the form to <u>maren.deepwell@alt.ac.uk</u> by no later than 17.00 BST on 31st August.

ALT Annual General Meeting 2018 - Proxy voting form

I am an Individual, Certified, or Honorary Life Member of ALT OR I am the representative of an Organisational, Partner or Sponsoring member of ALT <i>(delete whichever does not apply in the case of this particular proxy vote).</i>						
First name:						
Family name:						
If (and only if) I am the representative of an Organisational or Sponsoring member of ALT, the name of the organisation is:						
I am appointing this person to act as my proxy at the ALT AGM 2018:						
Martin Weller, the President of ALT OR (insert name - this option applies only for representatives of organisational, partner or sponsoring members)						
I direct Martin Weller OR (insert name - this option applies only for representatives of organisational, partner or sponsoring members) to vote as she or he chooses on my behalf OR I direct Martin Weller to vote as I instruct <i>(delete whichever does not apply).</i>						
If and only if I am directing Martin Weller to vote as I instruct, my instruction is as follows (delete whichever does not apply):						
RESOLUTION 1 IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the 2017-2018 Annual Report and Accounts be approved.	VOTE FOR	VOTE AGAINST	ABSTAIN			
RESOLUTION 2 IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, be re-appointed as Auditors for the 2018-2019 Accounts.	VOTE FOR	VOTE AGAINST	ABSTAIN			
RESOLUTION 3 IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the constitution attached to this resolution be adopted as the constitution of the CIO in substitution for, and to the exclusion of, the existing constitution as of 4 September 2019.	VOTE FOR	VOTE AGAINST	ABSTAIN			
RESOLUTION 4 IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT • Sheila MacNeill, of Glasgow, • Nicola Whitton, of Durham, • Daniel Clark, of Shrewsbury, having indicated willingness to act as the • Chair • Vice-chair • Honorary Treasurer	VOTE FOR	VOTE AGAINST	ABSTAIN			

and being eligible for appointment in accordance with clause 12.4 and 12.5 of the constitution of the charity is hereby appointed as the	
 Chair (Sheila MacNeill) Vice-chair (Nicola Whitton) Honorary Treasurer (Daniel Clark) with effect from the date of this resolution. 	
Signature:	
Date:	

Email the form to maren.deepwell@alt.ac.uk by no later than 17.00 BST on 31st August.