

# Annual General Meeting 2022 - Minutes

The 2022 Annual General Meeting of the Association for Learning Technology (CIO no. 1160039), took place on Wednesday, 7th September 2022 - 13:15 in the Main Hall, University Place, University of Manchester, 176 Oxford Rd, Manchester M13 9PL.

Time	Item	Agenda item
13.15	1	Welcome from the Chair of ALT
		Helen O'Sullivan welcomed Members and guests and thanked Members for their active engagement over the past year.
		A list of participants is provided below. James Clay and Jane Frankel were appointed as Tellers.
13.17	2	Approval of the Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting and matters arising.
		The 2021 AGM was held 15 June 2021 as an accurate record of the meeting. There are no matters arising.
		Helen O'Sullivan asked for a Proposer and Seconder to approve the minutes as an accurate record of the meeting.
		Proposer: Keith Smyth
		Seconder: Lynne Taylerson
		The minutes were approved as an accurate record of the meeting.
13.20	3	Annual Report and Accounts
		Shonagh Douglas, Honorary Treasurer of ALT, reported to the meeting and took questions.
		Members then voted on the following resolution: RESOLUTION 1: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the 2021-2022 Annual Report and Accounts be approved.
		Proposer: Lorna Campbell

alt.ac.uk

13:45		Close of meeting
		Helen then thanked Trustees coming to the end of their terms of service: Bella Abrams and Lorna Campbell.
13.40	6	The Chair announced the results of this year's Trustee election, carried out by Civitas, to elect two new Trustees to the Board of Trustees.  New Trustees Puiyin Wong and David Hopkins were welcomed.
42.40	_	Trustee election, appointments and thanks
		Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive, presented the Impact Report 2022 to Members.
13:35	5	Impact Report 2022
		The resolution was passed.
		Abstenations: 1
		Votes against: 0
		Votes for: 51
		Seconder: Lorna Campbell
		Proposer: Lynne Taylerson
		Resolution 2: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, be re-appointed as Auditors for the 2022-2023 Accounts.
		Members then voted on the following resolution:
		Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, as Auditors.
		Members were asked to vote to re-appoint David Cadwallader & Co
13:30	4	Appointment of an Auditor for the 2022/3 Accounts
		The resolution was passed.
		Abstentions: 1
		Votes against: 0
		Votes for: 48
		Seconder: Natalie Lafferty

alt.ac.uk 2

## **AGM Participants**

### ALT Members in attendance (representing Individuals [I] and/or organisations [O]:

Rich Goodman (1836) [O] [A], James Allen (21765) [I][A], Vicki Dale (6830) [I], Sharon Flynn (6184) [I], Patrick Stoddart (19372) [I], Lisa Hewitt (24101) [I] [A], Sarah Sherman (930) [I], Gemma Duffy (29174) [I] [A], Adam Levi (24043) [I], Carmen Miles (19926) [I] [A], Lynne Taylerson (9425) [I], Chloe Hynes (24360) [I], Shonagh Douglas (21733) [I], Joseph Dargue (23921) [I] [A], Amy Sampson (11263) [O], Rob Farrow (12087) [I] [A], Louise Jones (17724) [I], Motasem Al Haj Ali (24388) [O] [A], Tamsyn Smith (5126) [I], Louise Walters (16288) [I], Marion Manton (19245) [O], Emma Procter-Legg (6166) [I], Lorna Campbell (10131) [I], Beccy Dresden (10628) [I], Karen Kear (6218) [I] [A], Dave White (4053) [O], Maren Deepwell (837) [I], Kerry Pinny (11213) [I], Helen O'Sullivan (12696) [I] [None], Simon Thomson (2979) [I] [A], Bella Abrams (23357) [I] [None]

#### Members with two votes:

Natalie Lafferty (9222) [I+O], Helen Whitehead (1658) [I+O], Patrick Pemsel (29166) [I+O], Emma Duke-Williams (7352) [I+O] [A], Keith Smyth (9707) [I+O], Puiyin Wong (23180) [O+I], Julie Voce (419) [I+O]

No apologies were tendered.

### The Chair noted that proxy votes from the following Members had been received:

David Hopkins (743) [I], Caroline King (13916) [I], Matt Lingard (550) [I], Rob Howe (1274) [O], Peter Bryant (1276) [I], Deepika Kohli (23707) [I][A], Sandra Huskinson (1979) [I], Sonya McChristie (1490) [I+O], Josephine Fraser (324) [I], Elizabeth Charles (6040) [I],

**Non-voting Members and visitors:** Adam Craik, Kate Lindsay, James Clay, Fiona Jones (ALT), Christina Vines (ALT), Harvey S N.

alt.ac.uk 3