

Annual General Meeting 2020 - Minutes
The 2020 Annual General Meeting of the Association for Learning Technology (CIO no. 1160039) took place online, on Wednesday, 24 June 2020.

| Time | Item | Agenda item |
|-------|------|---|
| 10.00 | 1 | Welcome from the Chair and President of ALT Sheila MacNeill and Martin Weller welcome Members and those who are attending as guests and watching the video stream. |
| | | Highlights from the past year: 1. First Impact Report published following by a new Strategy for 2020-2022 2. OER20 delivery online 3. Support for Members during the crisis 4. Updated plan for the year ahead to adjust to new Members needs. |
| | | ALT Members in attendance (representing Individuals [I] and/or |
| | | organisations [O]: Emily Armstrong (6070) [I], Frances Bell (363) [I], Terese Bird (644) [I], Annette Brindle (10894) [I], Peter Bryant (1276) [I], Lorna Campbell (10131) [I], Elizabeth Charles (6040) [I], Daniel Clark (3488) [I], Matt Cornock (770) [I], Linda Creanor (14698) [I], Vicki Dale (6830) [I], Maren Deepwell (192) [I], Lesley Diack (319) [I], Roger Emery (2067) [I], Sarah Fielding (11428) [O], Sharon Flynn (6184) [I], Richard Goodman (1836) [O], Shelby Hanna (15405) [I], Martin Hawksey (512) [I], Anne Hole (7257) [I], Rob Howe (1274) [O], Sophia Hutchinson (12661) [I], David Jennings (709) [I], Matt Lingard (550) [I], Teresa MacKinnon (1608) [I], Hamish Macleod (223) [I], Sheila MacNeill (8153) [I], Moira Maley (1571) [I], Philippa McDonald (11352) [I], Gennadii Miroshnikov (11962) [I], Kate Molloy (19178) [I], Helen O'Sullivan (12696) [O], Michael Porter (20120) [I], Richard Price (11012) [I]. Steve Ryan (335) [I], Daniel Scott (2590) [I], Sarah Sherman (930) [I], Keith Smyth (9707) [I], Lyshi Soloman (13708) [I], Clare Thomson (8041) [I], Martin Weller (9680) [O], David White (4053) [O], Gemma Witton (2216) [I]. |
| | | Members with two votes: Richard Beggs (10163) [I+O], Richard Goodman (1836) [O] - Org. plus nominated proxy, Steven Verjans (1443) [I+O], Julie Voce (419) [I+O] |
| | | Apologies were noted from Jack Lockhart, Magda Ang, Daniel Scott, Sarah Williamson. |
| | | The Chair noted that proxy votes from the following Members had been received: Jack Lockhart, Daniel Scott, Sarah Williamson. Non-voting Members and visitors: Fiona Jones (ALT Staff), Emma-Jane Brazier (ALT Staff), Debbie Baff (ALT Staff), Jane Frankel (ALT Staff), Nicola Cadwallader (Auditor) |

alt.ac.uk

| 10.05 | 2 | Approval of the Minutes of last Annual General Meeting Held in Edinburgh on 4th September 2019 as an accurate record of the meeting (which can be viewed here) Martin Weller asked for a Proposer and Seconder to approve the minutes as an accurate record of the meeting. Proposer: Julie Voce Seconder: Elizabeth Charles |
|-------|---|--|
| 10.10 | 3 | Matters arising from the Minutes of the last general meeting Martin Weller noted that there were no matters arising. |
| 10.15 | 4 | Annual Report and Accounts for 2019-20 Daniel Clark, Honorary Treasurer of ALT reported to the meeting and presented the Annual Report and Accounts (which can be viewed here). Members then voted on the following resolution: Resolution 1: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the 2019-2020 Annual Report and Accounts be approved. Proposer: Steven Verjans Seconder: Julie Voce Votes for: 38 Votes against: 0 Abstentions: 3 |
| 10.35 | 5 | Appointment of an Auditor for the 2019-2020 Accounts Members were asked to vote to re-appoint David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, as Auditors. Members then voted on the following resolution: Resolution 2: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, be re-appointed as Auditors for the 2019-2020 Accounts. Proposer:Lorna Campbell Seconder: Keith Smyth Votes for: 35 Votes against: 0 Abstenations: 2 |
| 10.40 | 6 | Award of Honorary Life Membership Martin Weller then invited Trustee Lorna Campell to present this year's Award to an individual who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the advancement of ALT's aims for the development of learning technology. The Award was presented to Teresa MacKinnon. |
| 10.45 | 7 | Trustee election, appointments and thanks Sheila MacNeill announced the results of this year's Trustee election to elect one new Trustee to the Board of Trustees: one candidate stood for election for one vacancy. David White is elected uncontested, and will serve as Trustee and President. Sheila MacNeill also announced Trustees who will be continuing for a second three year term, Elizabeth Charles and Peter Bryant. Martin Weller announced the appointment of a new chair. The selection process was led by a panel of Trustees and Senior Staff. The panel recommended the appointment of Helen O'Sullivan which the Board of Trustees has approved. Helen O-Sullivan thanked Trustees coming to the end of their terms of service: Sheila MacNeill, Chair, and Martin Weller, President. |
| 11.00 | | Close of meeting |

alt.ac.uk 2