

## Annual General Meeting 2019 - Minutes

The 2019 Annual General Meeting of the Association for Learning Technology (CIO no. 1160039) took place on Wednesday, 4th September 2019, University of Edinburgh, UK.

Time	Item	Agenda item	Vote
16.30	1	<ul> <li>Welcome from the Chair and President of ALT</li> <li>Sheila MacNeill and Martin Weller welcomed all and shared highlights from the past year including:         <ol> <li>Establishing a thriving ALT Assembly</li> <li>Developing and now launching, this week, the new Associate and Senior CMALT accreditation pathways</li> <li>Celebrating a full network of Members Groups - now in all parts of the UK</li> <li>Continuing to operate as an independent charity and representing Members in uncertain times.</li> </ol> </li> <li>Apologies were noted from Sarah Sherman.</li> <li>ALT Members in attendance (representing Individuals (I) and/or organisations (O): Daniel Clark (I), Maren Deepwell (I), Sheila MacNeill (I), Martin Weller (I), Andy Blackall (I), Blanett McSherry (I), Tom Buckley (I), Mark Shand (I) Naomi Bechektt (I), Kamakshi Rajagopal (I), Diane Stefanescu (I), Melissa Highton (I), Matt Cornock (I), John Kerr (I), Keith Smyth (I), Natalie Lafferty (O), Linda Creanor (I), Alex Burford (I), Steven Verjans (I), Ian Blacklock (I), John Brindle (I), Sheila MacNeill (I), Martin Hawksey (I), Emily Armstrong (I), Danielle Johnstone (I), Sue Beckingham (I), Peter Bryant (I), Anne-Marie Scott (I), Daniel Scott (I), Sam Taylor (I), Cheryl Brown (I), Julie Mulvey (I), Diane Bennett (O), Stefanie Campbell (I), Julie Voce (O), Sharon Flynn (I), Rachel Hartshorne (I).</li> <li>The Chair noted that proxy votes from the following Members had been received: Sarah Sherman (I), Jonathan Worth (I), Richard Price (I), Stephan Caspar (I), Seb Schmoller (I).</li> <li>Non-voting Members and visitors: Elaine Dalloway, Carolin Radtke, Fiona Grant, Theresa Marriott, Isobel</li> </ul>	

r	1	1	1
		Gowers, Scott Connor, Mari Cruz Garcia, Simon Horrocks, Linda McBain, Sandra Flynn, Jaroslaw Dymiter, Debbie Baff, Laura Czerniewicz, Duncan Stephen, Neil Davidson, Ghizzi Dunlop, Angela Tinney, Ella Tugwell, Ian Dolphin, Bobbi Moore, Donna Hay, Myles Blaney, Katharine Reedy, Lukasz Kaczmarek.	
16.35	2	Approval of the Minutes of last Annual General Meeting held in Manchester on 12th September 2018 as an accurate record of the meeting. View the minutes <u>here</u> .	Proposer: Peter Bryant, Seconder: Lorna Campbell
16.40	3	Matters arising from the Minutes of the last general <b>meeting:</b> there were no matters arising. Noted the current constitution which Members approved at last year's AGM.	-
16.45	4	Annual Report and Accounts for 2018-19 Daniel Clark, Honorary Treasurer of ALT reported to the meeting and presented the Annual Report and Accounts. Members then voted on the following resolution: Resolution 1: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the 2018-2019 Annual Report and Accounts be approved.	Resolution 1: Proposer: Matt Lingard Seconder: Steven Verjans Votes for: 40 Votes against: 0 Abstentions: 2
16.55	5	Appointment of an Auditor for the 2018-2019 Accounts Members were asked to vote to re-appoint David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, as Auditors. Members then voted on the following resolution: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, be re-appointed as Auditors for the 2019-2020 Accounts.	Resolution 2: Proposer:Peter Bryant, Seconder: Sharon Flynn Votes for: 39 Votes against: 1 Abstentions: 2
17.10	6	Award of Honorary Life Membership Martin Weller then invited Trustee Lorna Campell to present this year's Award to an individual who has made an outstanding and sustained contribution to the advancement of ALT's aims for the development of learning technology. The Award was presented to Frances Bell.	-
17.15	7	<ul> <li>Trustee election, appointments and thanks</li> <li>Sheila MacNeill announced the results of this year's</li> <li>Trustee election to elect two new Trustees to the Board of</li> <li>Trustees and the appointment of the next Vice-Chair.</li> <li>Martin Weller thanked Trustees coming to the end of their</li> <li>terms of service.</li> <li>Trustees who are continuing for a second 3 year term:</li> <li>Lorna Campbell and Bella Abrams.</li> <li>Election results:</li> <li>Eight candidates stood for election for two vacancies. Two</li> <li>Trustees were elected: Sharon Flynn and Natalie Lafferty.</li> <li>Appointment of Vice-Chair:</li> <li>The selection process was led by a panel consisting of the</li> <li>Chair, President and Chief Executive. The panel</li> <li>recommended the appointment of Keith Smyth which the</li> <li>Board of Trustees has approved.</li> <li>Thanks to Trustees who have ended their term:</li> </ul>	-

		Nicola Whitton and Sarah Sherman.	
17.20	9	<b>CMALT Ceremony</b> All Members who achieved or renewed their CMALT accreditation in the past 12 months were invited onto the stage for the annual CMALT Ceremony.	-
17.30		Close of meeting	-