

### 2015 AGM Minutes

### 22nd Annual General Meeting Wednesday, 9 September 2015 Held at the Main Theatre, Manchester University, University Place, Oxford Road

### Presiding - Diana Laurillard, President

### 1 Recorded attendance and apologies

#### Individual members

Andy Beggan, Liz Bennett, Terese Bird, Haydn Blackey, Rachel Challen, Alastair Clark, Daniel Clark, James Clay, Sarah Copeland, Diana Costilla López, Linda Creanor, Rod Digges, Barineme Fakae, Paul Gormley, Fiona Harvey, Martin Hawksey, Sandra Huskinson, Nick Jeans, Amanda Jefferies, Nigel Jones, Diana Laurillard, Matt Lingard, Sheila MacNeill, Moira Maley, Liz Masterman, Celeste McLaughlin, Neil Morris, Sarah Rogers, Gilly Salmon, Liam Sammon, Howard Scott, John Slater, Steven Verjans, Mira Vogel, Martin Weller, Neil Witt.

## Representing organisational members (some organisational members are also individual members in their own right)

Haydn Blackey (University of South Wales), Hugh Davis (University of Southampton), Kerr Gardiner (University of Glasgow), Richard Goodman, Nigel Jones (Cardiff Metropolitan University), Matt Lingard (University of West London), Stephen Locke-Wheaton (University of Warwick), (Loughborough University), Richard Maccabee (ULCC), Sheila MacNeill (Glasgow Caledonian University), Liz Masterman (University of Oxford), Neil Morris (University of Leeds), Steven Verjans (Open Universiteit), Mira Vogel (UCL).

#### <u>Staff</u>

Anna Davidge, Maren Deepwell, Jane Frankel, Martin Hawksey, Thomas Palmer, John Slater.

### 2 Apologies

The President noted apologies from Doug Gowan and Seb Schmoller.

### **3 Appointment of Tellers**

Terese Bird and James Clay were appointed.

# 4 Approval of the Minutes of last general meeting held in Warwick on 2 September 2014

The minutes of the 2014 AGM were approved as a true record, proposed by Liz Masterman and seconded by James Clay.

### **5 Matters arising**

The only matter arising was the transition to CIO status, dealt with under agenda item 8.

### 6 Annual Report and Accounts for 2014-2015

Copies of the audited accounts had been distributed to those in attendance and made available online in advance of the meeting.

Diana Laurillard introduced the report, thanking everyone including Trustees, committee members and ALT staff for their work over the year. Haydn Blackey (Honorary Treasurer) then gave a brief overview of the audited accounts, noting that the accounts showed a significant negative balance largely due to the planned spending of restricted funds in the previous year. Haydn further highlighted that one of the challenges faced over the past year had been changes to the landscape ALT operates in, including diminished external project income. However, Haydn also pointed out that the financial strategy had already delivered improved results and that ALT was now in a better position for the current year. Haydn went on to thank ALT's Finance Officer Jane Frankel for her work over the past year and Maren Deepwell for her work on improving income generation. Thanking Haydn for his account, Diana gave further thanks to James Clay (Committee for Further Education and cross-sector engagement), Matt Lingard (Committee for Communication and Publications) and Shirley Evans (Committee for Membership Development) for their work as chairs of ALT's committees during the year.

Alastair Clark proposed and Matt Lingard seconded the motion that the 2014-2015 Annual Report and Accounts be approved, and the motion was carried 40 votes in favour, none against, with two abstentions.

### 7 Appointment of an Auditor for the 2015-2016 Accounts

Diana Laurillard proposed from the Chair that Shaw Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, be reappointed as Auditors. This was seconded by Sheila MacNeill and the motion was carried 44 in favour, with none against and no abstentions.

### 8 Report on transition to CIO status

Diana Laurillard reported that following Member's approval of the move to Charitable Incorporated Organisation (Association model) status at the 2014 AGM, Trustees have taken steps to register ALT as a CIO and transfer the assets and liabilities of the current charity to the CIO with effect from 9 September 2015. The transfer resolution has been approved by members of the CIO (Trustees) accordingly and Trustees will now take steps to prepare nil balance accounts for approval at the next general meeting of the charity and for filing at the Charity Commission.

### 9 Verbal report from Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive

Maren started her report by noting general thanks to Steven Verjans and Meg O'Reilly, retiring Editors of ALT's journal Research in Learning Technology. Then members marked the 10th anniversary of ALT's former newsletter, now the #altc Blog, and noted their thanks to all contributors and editors in particular Anne Hole. Finally Maren reflected on the outstanding and continued contribution of ALT's members to the work of the Association and noted her personal thanks.

### **10 Election to Trustee vacancies**

a) a Vice-Chair of the Association (an ex-officio member of the Central Executive Committee who will become Chair in September 2016, and President in September 2017) Diana Laurillard announced that Martin Weller has been elected unopposed as Vice-Chair of ALT, and as an ALT Trustee. Martin will progress next year to be Chair of ALT and to be President the year after.

b) Election to two vacancies to serve a three year term on the ALT Central executive Committee Diana

Laurillard announced that Neil Morris and Daniel Clark had been elected unopposed to serve a three year term on the ALT Central Executive Committee and as ALT Trustees.

### **11 Handover to the incoming President**

Prior to standing down as President, Diana Laurillard thanked retiring Trustees Haydn Blackey and Claire Donan for their service to ALT as Trustees. She then handed over to Fiona Harvey, as Deputy to Doug Gowan, who will take over as President immediately after the conference. Fiona then thanked Diana for her three years of service to ALT, also thanking her personally for her support in her role as Vice-Chair and then Chair in the preceding two years. Members and Trustees showed their thanks and appreciated in the usual way.

Written by Maren Deepwell, 15/9/15, and reviewed by Diana Laurillard, 16 September 2015 .