

Annual General Meeting 2023 - Minutes

The 2023 Annual General Meeting of the Association for Learning Technology [CIO no. 1160039], takes place on Wednesday, 6th September 2023 - 15:00 in the Main Hall, The Oculus, University of Warwick, Coventry, UK.

Time	ltem	Agenda item
15.00	1	Welcome from the Chair of ALT
		Helen O'Sullivan welcomed Members and guests and thanked Members for their active engagement over the past year. A list of participants is provided below.
		James Clay and Deborah Green were appointed as Tellers.
15.02	2	Approval of the Minutes of the last Annual General Meeting and matters arising.
		The 2023 AGM was held on 6th September 2023 at the University of Warwick as an accurate record of the meeting.
		There are no matters arising.
15.05	3	Annual Report and Accounts
		Shonagh Douglas, Honorary Treasurer of ALT provided an update at the meeting (video).
		Members then voted on the following resolution: <i>RESOLUTION 1: IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT the 2022-2023 Annual Report and</i> <i>Accounts be approved.</i>
		Proposer: Bella Abrams Seconder: Natalie Lafferty
		Total Votes for: 54



		Total Votes Against: 0 Abstentions: 1 The resolution was passed.
15:15	4	Appointment of an Auditor for the 2023/4 Accounts Members will be asked to vote to re-appoint David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, as Auditors.
		Members then vote on the following resolution: <i>Resolution 2 : IT IS HEREBY RESOLVED THAT David Cadwallader & Co Ltd, Accountants, of Chesterton, be re-appointed as Auditors for the 2023-2024 Accounts.</i>
		Proposer: Peter Bryant Seconder: Jane Frankel Total Votes for: 47 Total Votes Against: 0
		Abstentions: 2 The resolution was passed.
15:20	5	Trustee appointments and thanks The Chair shared key points of this year's Board effectiveness report and confirmed Trustee appointments. Peter Bryant will continue as an appointed Trustee for a further year following the end of his term as an elected Trustee. The Chair thanked Elizabeth Charles who stepped down. There are no elected vacancies on the Board this year, thus no election
		took place. At this stage the formal business of the AGM was concluded.
15:25	6	CEO handover The Chair will thank Maren Deepwell on behalf of the Board and Members for her service as Chief Executive. We welcomed Billy Smith as the new Chief Executive.



15:30	7	CMALT Ceremony
		All Certified Members who have gained their membership in the past year or updated their status were invited on stage to celebrate their achievement in a short ceremony.
15:40	8	Impact Report 2023
		Billy Smith, Chief Executive, shared a link to the Impact Report and a video was played to acknowledge the contributions of our member community and celebrate the highlights and achievements.
15:45	-	Close of meeting

AGM Participants

ALT Members in attendance [representing Individuals [I] and/or organisations [O]:

Santanu Vasant (2708) [O], Suzanne Hardy (2821) [O], John Lenehan (23618) [I], Bella Abrams (12005) [I], Seb Schmoller (710) [I], Lawrie Phipps (19327) [I], Laura Milne (21793) [I], Matt Jarvis (14799) [I], Abbi Shaw (16546) [I], Angus MacDonald (21440) [I], Rich Goodman (1836) [O], Helen O'Sullivan (12696) [I], Sandra Morales (30801) [O], Sam Taylor (19956) [I], Puiyin Wong (19638) [I], Sharon Flynn (6184) [I], David Hawkridge (216) [I], Paul Finley (13503) [I], A. Ainscow (11522) [I], M. Cornock (770) [I], Denise Sweeney (14011) [I], Kathy Chandler (16396) [O], Tracey Madden (2983) [I], Shri Footring (1890) [I], Helen Walkey (19429) [O], Lynne Taylerson (9425) [I], John Couperthwaite (549) [I], David Hopkins (743) [I], Peter Bryant (1276) [I], David White (4053) [O], Steven Verjans (1443) [I], Tamsyn Smith (5126) [I], James Allen (21765) [O], T. Mackinnon (1608) [I], Debbie Baff (8845) [I], James Marsh (29475) [I], Rakhee Sharma (28815) [I], Kevin Brace (787) [I], Abigail Ball (6183) [I], G. Ó Súilleabháin (11761) [I], Roisin Garvey (11765) [I], Sarah Pattison (28933) [I], Graham McElearney (23352) [O], Anne-Marie Scott (2789) [I], Amy Gottler (21410) [I], Emma Procter-Legg (6166) [I], Kerry Pinny (11213) [I], Maren Deepwell (837) [I], Miranda Embleton-Smith [O], Tim Neumann [O], Leo Havemann (3031) [O], Alice Chapman (29005) [O] Sarah Jones (29403) [O] Chloe Tambling (30954) [O] James Clay (1338) [O], Javene Alexander [O], Havey Norman [O], Emmanuel Edwards [O], Deborah Green [V,O] Tilly Harrison [V,O]

Members with two votes:

Matt Lingard (550) [I,O], Caroline King (13916) [I,O], Kiran Gawali (9729) [I,O], Richard Walker (29465) [I,O], Natalie Lafferty (9222) [I,O], Julie Voce (419) [I,O], Cath Fenn [I,O]



No apologies were tendered.

The Chair noted that proxy votes from the following Members had been received:

Shonagh Douglas [I], Elizabeth Charles [I], Carol Worsfold [I], Rob Howe [O],

Non-voting Members and visitors:

Helen Beetham, Martin Hawksey, M. Juss, Jon Rhodes,, K. Youngs, David Kernohan, Martin Oliver, Mahreen Ferdous, Billy Smith (ALT), Katie Johnson (ALT), Jane Frankel (ALT), Emily Moore (ALT)