Association for Learning Technology

Minutes of the 13th Annual General Meeting, Edinburgh, 6th September 2006

1 Attendance

1.1 Individuals and those representing organisations

At least 54 members, including: Fawei Geng, Linda Creanor (Vice-Chair), David Dyet, Nicola Whitton, Amanda Jefferies, Andrew Comrie, Paul Bacsich, Robert Harding, Mike Sharples, Richard Millwood, Dawn Leeder, Liz Bennett, Dawn Slone, Bessie Wedgwood, John Cook, Peter Murray, Seb Schmoller, Jane Seale (Chair), Bob Harrison, Matty Smith, Steve Ryan, M Toole, Chris Jones, Steve Wheeler, Gilly Salmon, Vanessa Pittard, Lucy Allan, Stephen Ogden, Jonathan Darby, Barbara Newland, Cathy Ellis, Geetha Abeysinghe, Anne Dickinson, Nora Mogey, Tim Alpanis, Peter Johnston, Robin Mason, Peter Hartley, Ian Smith, Brian Whalley, Gayle Kelly, Irmgard Huppe, Gayle Calverley (Honorary Secretary), Susan McKnight, Ann Wilkinson, John Phelps, Angela Trikic, Pete Radcliff, Tom Franklin, Terry Mayes, Julie Voce, Morag Munro, Jill Jameson, Graham McElearney.

1.2 Staff

Bob Green (Acting Operations Manager), Rhonda Riachi (Director), Seb Schmoller (Executive Secretary), Teresa Prochazka (Projects Manager).

1.3 Apologies

Geoff Cove, Keith Duckitt, John Slater (Honorary Treasurer), Ray McAleese, Ann Mumford, Denise Whitelock.

2 2005 AGM

The minutes of the 2005 AGM were approved, proposed by Robin Mason and seconded by Dawn Leeder. There were no matters arising.

3 Annual Report

The 2005-2006 Annual Report, which had been provided to conference participants on their arrival at the conference, was approved, proposed by Tom Franklin and seconded by Jonathan Darby.

4 Trustee Vacancies

4.1 Vice-chair

Cathy Ellis was elected unopposed to serve as Vice-Chair of the Association for 2006-2007, and as a Trustee for the next 3 years, nominated by John Cook and seconded by Tom Franklin.

4.2 Additional Trustee Vacancies (2)

Two nominations had been received by the closing date, obviating the need for a ballot. Thus Gayle Calverley was re-elected to serve a second 3 year term, nominated by Paul Bacsich and seconded by David Hume; and Liz Bennett was elected to serve a first 3 year term, nominated by Linda Creanor and seconded by Steven Burton.

5 Approval of the Audited Accounts for 2005-2006

In the absence of the Honorary Treasurer, Bob Green (Acting Operations Manager) presented the abbreviated accounts, pointing out that a full set of accounts are available for inspection and that the accounts have been the subject of a favourable opinion from Edmund Gibbs, ALT Auditors. We agreed to approve the accounts, proposed by Peter Murray and seconded by Bob Harrison. We also recorded, with acclaim, a formal note of thanks to Bob Green for his work for ALT during Marion Samler's (née O'Dea) absence on maternity leave.

6 Appointment of Auditors

We appointed Edmund Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, as Auditors for the 2006-2007 Accounts, proposed by Graham McElearney and seconded by John Phelps

7 Handover to new President

John Cook stood down as President, handing over to Jane Seale, retiring Chair. We noted our thanks to John, and presented him with a paperweight (designed by founder member Ray McAleese, and made by Peter Holmes of Selkirk Glass) for his work for ALT as a Trustee, and as Vice-chair, Chair, and President over the previous 3 years.

Written by Seb Schmoller, 6/9/2006, and 29/10/2006. Reviewed by Jane Seale, President, 30/10/2006.