

20th Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 11 September 2013 Held at the University of Nottingham, Nottingham, UK

Presiding – Martin Oliver, President

1. Recorded attendance and apologies

Individual members

Yvonne Bain, Tom Bartlett, Shaun Boyd, Jago Brown, Stephen Brown, Julie Bourguignon, Linda Creanor, Sarah Cornelius, Jonathan Darby, Claire Donalan, Nigel Ecclsefield, BB Fakae, Tom Franklin, Kerr, Gardiner, Fawei Geng, Rich Goodman, Doug Gowan, Sally Holden, Laura Hollinshead, Sarah Horrigan, Amanda Jeffries, David Jennings, Nigel Jones, Jacquie Kelly, Ellen Lessner, Matt Lingard, Neil McKeown, Dick Moore, Joseph Osunde, Janaina Reis, Phil Richards, Malcolm Ryan, Gilly Salmon, Marianne Sheppard, Joe Stroud, Kirsten Thompson, Steven Verjans, Stephen Vickers, Mark Wells

<u>Representing organisational members (some organisational representatives are also individual</u> <u>members in their own right)</u>

Julie Bourguignon (imperial College), Amanda Jeffries (University Of Herefordshire) Ker Gardiner (University Of Glasgow), Fawei Geng (University Of Oxford), Caroline Graham (UWE), Barry Gregory (Nottingham Trent), Catherine Naamani (University Of South Wales), Jane Seale (Exeter University), Sarah Sherman (Bloomsbury Consortium), Kirsten Thompson (University Of Leeds)

<u>Visitors</u>

Peter Bekker, Lesley Gourlay, Jade Kelsall, John Morrison, Su White

Staff

Anna Davidge, Maren Deepwell, Caroline Greves, John Slater, Allison Stevens, Elizabeth Wyatt

<u>Apologies</u> None.

2. Appointment of two Tellers

Catherine Naamani and Tom Franklin were appointed.

3. Approval of the Minutes of last general meeting held in Manchester on 12 September 2012

The minutes of the 2012 AGM were approved a true record, proposed by Steven Verjans and seconded by Malcolm Ryan. There were no matters arising.

4. Annual Report and Accounts for 2012-2013

Copies of the audited accounts had been distributed to those in attendance and made available online in advance of the meeting. Martin Oliver introduced the report, thanking committee members and ALT staff for their work over the year and noting ALT's continuing work in the

production of consultant responses and policy engagement more generally; and projects including the successful running of the Open Course in Technology Enhanced Learning (ocTEL) and ALT's contribution to the Maths4Us initiative. Particular thanks were noted to Haydn Blackey, in his first year as Treasurer as well as ALT staff and members. He gave further thanks to James Clay (Further Education Committee), Dick Moore (Publications Committee), Shirley Evans (Membership Services Committee) and Norbert Pachler (Research Committee) for their work as chairs of ALT's committees during the year.

Haydn Blackey (Honorary Treasurer) gave a brief overview of the audited accounts, noting that the accounts showed a large surplus on the year, taking into account the bequest from the Open Learning Partnership. Aside from the bequest a small surplus had been generated over the year. Haydn went on to thank Emma Carr-Jones (Finance Manager) for her work during the 2012-2013 financial year and on the production of the accounts.

Johnathan Darby proposed and Gilly Salmon seconded the motion that the 2012-2013 Annual Report and Accounts be approved, and the motion was carried 41 votes in favour, none against, with one abstention.

5. Appointment of an Auditor for the 2013-2014 Accounts

Martin Oliver proposed from the Chair that Shaw Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, be re-appointed as Auditors. This was seconded by Matt Lingard and agreed without a vote.

6. Brief verbal report from Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive

Maren Deepwell covered three main points in her report:

1. On behalf of the Trustees of ALT Frances Bell was thanked for her long-standing commitment and leading work as co-editor of ALT's journal, Research in Learning Technology. Also receiving thanks for their important work for the ALT newsletter were Morag Munro, Julie Voce and Graham McElearny, who stepped down as Editor and Deputy Editors respectively. Martin noted his thanks to all in their absence.

The first successful running of the ocTEL course, which was largely supported by members, was noted and thanks expressed in particular to David Jennings, Martin Hawksey and Anna Davidge.
Maren then thanked ALT members and Trustees for their contribution and emphasised the crucial role Members play in the success of ALT and the continued need for their support and engagement.

7. Elections to Trustee vacancies.

a) a **Vice-Chair of the Association** (an ex-officio member of the Central Executive Committee who will become Chair in September 2014, and President in September 2015)

Martin Oliver announced that Doug Gowan has been elected unopposed as Vice-Chair of ALT, and as an ALT Trustee. Doug will progress next year to be Chair of ALT and to be President the year after.

b) Election to two vacancies to serve a three year term on the ALT Central executive Committee

Martin Oliver announced that Sarah Sherman had been elected unopposed to serve a three year term on the ALT Central Executive Committee and as ALT Trustee.

8. Handover to new President

Prior to standing down as President, Martin Oliver thanked retiring Trustee Dick Moore (Chair of the Publications Committee) for his service to ALT as Trustees, and he presented an ALT paperweight to Dick. He then handed over to Claire Donlan, who will take over as President immediately after the conference. Claire then thanked Martin – to acclaim, and presenting him with an ALT paperweight –

for his three years of service to ALT, also thanking him personally for his support in his role as Vice-Chair and then Chair in the preceding two years.

Written by Maren Deepwell, 18/9/13, and reviewed by Martin Oliver, 18/11/13.