Keynote and Invited Speakers

ALT-C 2012 - a confrontation with reality

Keynote Speakers

 Eric Mazur

Eric Mazur is Balkanski Professor of Physics and Applied Physics at Harvard University. Mazur is an internationally recognised scientist and researcher in optical physics. In addition to his work in physics, Mazur is particularly interested in science education: he devotes part of his research group's effort to education research and finding verifiable ways to improve science education. He has been developing Peer Instruction as a method for teaching large lecture classes interactively for over 20 years.

 Natasa Milic-Frayling

Natasa Milic-Frayling is Principal Researcher at Microsoft Research Cambridge. Milic-Frayling sets research directions for the Integrated Systems group, an inter-disciplinary team focused on the design, prototyping and evaluation of information and communication systems. Her current research interests include support for sharing and making sense of digital information in collaborative settings; analysing social media networks and user interaction in online communities; cross-platform computing to enable coherent user experience across mobile, desktop, web, and cloud environments.

 Richard Noss

Richard Noss is co-director of the London Knowledge Lab and Professor of Mathematics Education at the Institute of Education. Noss directs the Technology Enhanced Learning Research Programme, funded jointly by the Economic and Social Research Council and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council, a national research programme that seeks to push forward the frontiers of the design and application of technology for learning. he has directed some 20 research projects, all of which have focused on some mix of technology-enhanced learning, mathematics, and - for the last ten or so years - workplace learning.

Invited Speakers

 John Baker

President and CEO, Desire2Learn.

 Steve Bunce

Regional Leader for The Open University, North East, Yorkshire and Humber.

 James Clay

ILT and Learning Resources Manager, Gloucestershire College.

 Elizabeth Hartnell-Young

Director of Research and Evaluation at the Department of Education and Early Childhood Development (DEECD), Victoria, Australia.

 Sarah Porter

Head of Innovation at JISC.

 Seb Schmoller

Senior Advisor, The Association for Learning Technology (ALT).

 Aaron Sloman

Honorary Professor of Artificial Intelligence and Cognitive Science, School of Computer Science, University of Birmingham.

 Mark Stubbs

Head of Learning and Research Technology, Manchester Metropolitan University.

 Daniel Stucke

Teacher of Mathematics and ICT; Assistant Headteacher, leading E-Learning & IT Provision, Assessment & Data, and Timetable, Stretford High School, Manchester.

 Leena Vanio

Research Director, and chair of the Finnish eLearning Association.