Open Education Special Interest Group

Open Education SIG

The Open Education SIG (OESIG) was established in March 2012.

Education has the power to transform lives but too often access is restricted. Among those excluded are those who lack the right qualifications, who cannot pay the fees or who are unable to accommodate a fixed schedule. The Open Education movement seeks to remove barriers to education by freely sharing educational resources and adopting open educational practices.


The remit of this SIG is to support, develop, sustain and influence policy in open education.


Co-Chairs: Teresa MacKinnon and Vivien Rolfe
Secretary: Debbie Baff
Accessibility Champion: Alex Fenlon
Influencing Champion: Terese Bird
Open Practice Champion: Ella Mitchell


Debbie Baff
Terese Bird
Alastair Clark
Alex Fenlon
Liz Jones
Teresa Mackinnon
Ella Mitchell
Paul Richardson
Vivien Rolfe
Kelly Terrell

Get involved

To join the SIG, please sign up to the mailing list:

Continue the conversation on twitter using #openedsig

We also encourage you to sign-up to the commitment to Open Education which can be found at


The Open Education SIG now has a dedicated blog and community space. Visit the Open Ed Blog here:


Forthcoming OESIG Webinars

29 March 2017, 11.00 - 12.00: Maha Bali, 'Keynoting at #OER17: a personal perspective on open practice'


Details of forthcoming webinars organised by the OESIG will appear here.

Past OESIG Webinars


For more information about the next annual conference please go the OER17 website.