

19th Annual General Meeting

Wednesday 12 September 2012 - 15:00-15:45

Held at the University of Manchester, Manchester, UK

Presiding - Gilly Salmon, President

1. Recorded attendance and apologies

Individual members

Jebar Ahmed, Colin Addy, Brenda Bannan, Frances Bell, Liz Bennett, Haydn Blackey, John Clayton, Sarah Cornelius, Linda Creanor, Jonathan Darby, Claire Donlan, Barineme Fakae, Tom Franklin, Devampika Getkahn, Mark van Harmelen, Martin Hawksey, Jacquie Kelly, Teresa Mackinnon, Moira Maley, Dick Moore, Catherine Naamani, Tim Neumann, Martin Oliver, Phil Richards, Malcolm Ryan, Steve Ryan, Seb Schmoller, Rhona Sharpe, Anne Thillosen, Gloria Visintini

Representing organisational members (some organisational representatives are also individual members in their own right)

A. Armellini (University of Leicester), James Clay (Gloucestershire College), Sarah Cornelius (University of Aberdeen), Claire Donlan (University of Edinburgh), Kerr Gardiner (University of Glasgow), Phil Richards (Aberdeen College), Steven Verjans (Open Universiteit), Julie Voce (Imperial College London), M. Vogel (Goldsmiths), Neil Witt (University of Plymouth)

Visitors

Steven Bleis, Michael Cox, Lesley Gourlay, Elizabeth Hartnell-Young, Natasa Milic-Frayling, Denise Sweeney, L. Welch, Brian Whallet

<u>Staff</u>

Emma Carr-Jones, Anna Davidge, Maren Deepwell, Caroline Greves, John Slater, Elizabeth Wyatt

Apologies

Cath Fenn, Matt Lingard, Diana Laurillard

2. Appointment of two Tellers

Tom Franklin and John Clayton

3. Approval of the Minutes of last general meeting held in Leeds on 7 September 2011 The minutes of the 2011 AGM were approved a true record, proposed by Haydn Blackey and seconded by Linda Creanor. There were no matters arising.

4. Annual Report and Accounts for 2011-2012

Copies of the audited accounts had been distributed to those in attendance and made available online in advance of the meeting. Gilly Salmon introduced the report, thanking committee members and ALT staff for their work over the year and noting ALT's continuing work in the production of

consultant responses and policy engagement more generally; the successful transition of ALT's journal, Research in Learning Technology, to Open Access. Particular thanks were noted to Fred Pickering, who stepped down as Honorary Treasurer following the meeting and welcomed Haydn Blackey as his successor as well as ALT staff and Trustees for the smooth transition between Chief Executives. She gave further thanks to David Dyet (Further Education Committee), Dick Moore (Publications Committee), Haydn Blackey (Membership Services Committee) and John Cook (Research Committee) for their work as chairs of ALT's committees during the year.

Fred Pickering (Honorary Treasurer) have a brief overview of the audited accounts, noting that the accounts showed a large surplus on the year, taking into account the bequest from the Open Learning Partnership. Aside from the bequest a small surplus had been generated over the year. Fred went on to thank Emma Carr-Jones (Finance Manager) and Celia Gough (Interim Finance Manager for part of the year) for their work during the 2011-2012 financial year and on the production of the accounts.

Gilly thanked Fred for his work as Honorary Treasurer during this year of transition.

Johnathan Darby proposed and Steve Ryan seconded the motion that the 2011-2012 Annual Report and Accounts be approved, and the motion was carried 40 votes in favour (including 1 proxy vote), none against, with one abstention.

5. Appointment of an Auditor for the 2012-2013 Accounts

Gilly salmon proposed from the Chair that Shaw Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, be re-appointed as Auditors. This was seconded by James Clay and agreed without a vote.

6. Brief verbal report from Maren Deepwell, Chief Executive

Maren Deepwell covered three main points in her report:

- 1. The Robin Mason Fellowship fund has been officially launched. The purpose of the fellowship fund is to support researchers who cannot otherwise come to the annual conference to do so. There will be an emphasis on disadvantaged countries and a special emphasis will be given to Bhutan if possible. A further emphasis will be given to students. The fund is administrated separately and all funds raised will be used only for the purpose outlined.
- 2. On behalf of the Trustees of ALT Rhona Sharpe was thanked for her long-standing commitment and leading work as co-editor of ALT's journal, Research in Learning Technology. Gilly thanked Rhona personally and presented her with a token of thanks.
- 3. Maren then thanked ALT members and Trustees for their support during the handover with Seb Schmoller, ALT's former Chief Executive, and during the first months in post. Maren further emphasised the crucial role Members play in the success of ALT and the continued need for their support and engagement.

7. Honorary Life Membership. To award Honorary Life Membership of ALT.

Gilly Salmon presented Seb Schmoller with Honorary Life Membership of ALT, noting Seb's outstanding long-term contribution across education sectors to the learning technology field. Seb responded briefly emphasising his heartfelt pleasure in receiving the award and reflecting briefly on the changes in education he has been part of. Seb's award of Honorary Life Membership of ALT and his acceptance were welcomed warmly by all present.

8. Elections to Trustee vacancies.

a) a **Vice-Chair of the Association** (an ex-officio member of the Central Executive Committee who will become Chair in September 2013, and President in September 2014)

Gilly Salmon announced that Diana Laurillard has been elected unopposed as Vice-Chair of ALT, and as an ALT Trustee. Diana will progress next year to be Chair of ALT and to be President the year after.

b) Election to two vacancies to serve a three year term on the ALT Central executive Committee

Gilly Salmon announced that Shirley Evans and James Clay had been elected to serve three year terms on the ALT Central Executive Committee and as ALT Trustee, following an online ballot involving three candidates run on ALT's behalf by the Electoral Reform Services.

9. Handover to new President

Prior to standing down as President, Gilly Salmon thanked retiring Trustees Liz Bennett (Honorary Secretary), John Cook (Chair of Research Committee), David Dyet (Chair of the Further Education Committee), Liz Masterman, Fred Pickering (Honorary Treasurer) for their service to ALT as Trustees, and she presented an ALT paperweight to all who were present (A paperweight will be given to those not present in due course). She then handed over to Martin Oliver, who will take over as President immediately after the conference. Martin then thanked Gilly – to acclaim, and presenting her with an ALT paperweight – for her three years of service to ALT, also thanking her personally for her support in her role as Vice-Chair and then Chair in the preceding two years.

Written by Maren Deepwell, 13/9/12, and reviewed by Gilly Salmon, 21/10/12.