Association for Learning Technology

Minutes of the 16th Annual General Meeting, Manchester, 9th September 2009

Presiding: Cathy Ellis

1. Recorded attendance and apologies

Individual members

Ciaran Acton, Colin Addy, Frances Bell, Diane Bennett, Liz Bennett, Andy Black, Stephen Brown, Gayle Calverley, Ana A Carvalho, Sarah Cornelius, Linda Creanor, Adele Cushing, Jonathan Darby, Hugh Davis, Lesley Diack, Claire Donlan, Kevin Donovan, Nigel Ecclesfield, Isobel Falconer, Tom Franklin, Fenella Galpin, Fred Garnett, Fawei Geng, Sally Holden, Richard Jone, Mike Keppell, Farzana Latif, Diana Laurillard, Jean MacDonald, Liz Masterman, Graham McElearney, Adrian Molyneux, Dick Moore, Grete Oline Hole, Malcolm Ryan, Gilly Salmon, Josie Taylor, Joanna Teague, Richard Wallen, Su White, Nicola Whitton.

Representing organisational members (some organisational representatives are also individual members in their own right)

Sarah Chesney, University of Cumbria; James Clay, Gloucestershire College; Sal Cooke, JISC TechDis; Claire Donlan, Middlesbrough College; Amanda Jefferies, University of Hertfordshire; Justin Luker, Buckinghamshire New University; Graham McElearney, University of Sheffield; John McLaughlin, Department for Business, Innovation & Skills; Dick Moore, Ufi learndirect; David Morris, Coventry University; Gilly Salmon, University of Leicester; Pauline Yau, Huddle.

Visitors

Alejandro Armellini, University of Leicester; Martin Bean, The Open University; Catherine Colohan, The Open University; Palitha Edirisingha, University of Leicester; Lisa Gray, JISC; David Hawkridge; Jill Jameson, University of Greenwich; Mark McCalmont, Queen's University Belfast; Ming Nie, University of Leicester; Doreen Nielsen, University of Greenwich; Richard Noss, Institute of Education; Denise Whitelock, The Open University.

Staff

Seb Schmoller, Adam Marriott.

Apologies

Phil Richards, Rachel Harris, Paul Bacsich.

2. Appointment of two Tellers

Tom Franklin and Linda Creanor were appointed as tellers.

3. Approval of the minutes of last general meeting held in Leeds on 10 September 2008

The minutes of the 2008 AGM were approved a true record, proposed by Haydn Blackey and seconded by Gilly Salmon. There were no matters arising.

4. In Memoriam

Members, visitors and staff stood in silence for a minute to remember Keith Duckitt, ALT's first Honorary Life Member, who had died on 3 October 2008, and Robin Mason, Trustee and founding chair of ALT's Research Committee, who had died on 15 June 2009.

5. Annual Report and Accounts for 2008-2009

Copies of the audited accounts had been distributed to those in attendance and made available over the Internet in advance of the meeting from the Charity Commission web site. Cathy Ellis introduced the report, thanking committee members and ALT staff for their work over the year and noting the steady growth in membership of ALT, both individual and organisational. Fred Pickering (Honorary Treasurer) gave a brief overview of the audited accounts, differentiating between turnover deriving from restricted funds deriving from grants, and unrestricted funds deriving from activities such as the ALT conference. He drew attention to the adoption by ALT of a new risk-based reserves policy, and indicated that the small overall loss during 2008-2009 (representing less than 1% of turnover) had resulted from higher than anticipated recruitment costs during the year. Fred placed on record his thanks to Marion Samler (Director of Operations, who had left ALT to take up a new role at Abbingdon and Whitney College during the year) and Emma Carr-Jones (Finance Manager) for their work on the accounts and on finance matters generally. There were no questions. James Clay proposed and Dick Moore seconded the motion that the 2008-2009 Annual Report and Accounts be approved, and the motion was carried 55 votes in favour, none against, and with 1 abstention.

6. Elections to Trustee vacancies

a) Vice-Chair of the Association (an ex-officio member of the Central Executive Committee who will become Chair in September 2010, and President in September 2011)

Cathy Ellis announced that Gilly Salmon had been elected unopposed as Vice-Chair of ALT.

b) Election to two vacancies to serve a three year term on the ALT Central Executive Committee

The AGM noted that for the second year ALT's elections had been conducted on behalf of ALT by Electoral Reform Services (ERS). ERS had run a postal and online ballot vote of the membership as a whole, with the election conducted using the single transferable vote system. Referring to the official report from ERS, Cathy Ellis announced that Liz Bennett and Liz Masterman had been elected to the vacancies.

7. Honorary Life Membership

Cathy Ellis presented David Hawkridge with Honorary Life Membership of ALT, noting David's outstanding long-term national and international contribution to the learning technology field. David responded briefly emphasising his pleasure both in receiving the award, and in hearing at the AGM of the growth and consolidation of ALT as a professional and scholarly association. David's acceptance was met with acclaim by the meeting.

8. Appointment of Auditor for the 2009-2010 Accounts

Cathy Ellis proposed from the Chair that Shaw Gibbs, Accountants, of Oxford, by reappointed as Auditors. This was seconded by James Clay and agreed without a vote.

9. Handover to new President

Prior to standing down as President, Cathy Ellis thanked retiring Trustee Gayle Calverley for her six years of service to ALT. A suitable presentation will be made to Cathy at a later date. Cathy then handed over to Steve Ryan, who will take over as President immediately after the conference. Steve then thanked Cathy for her several years of service to ALT, noting that a suitable presentation will be made to Cathy at a later date, Seb Schmoller having explained that the ALT paperweights (designed by ALT founding member Ray McAleese, and manufactured by Selkirk Glass) which are normally presented to retiring Trustees, have deteriorated and that alternative arrangements will need to be made.

Written by Seb Schmoller, 9/9/2009, and 17/9/2009. Reviewed by Cathy Ellis 28th September 2009