

To all ALT Organisational and Sponsoring Members

10/5/2010

Dear Colleague,

You are cordially invited to send a representative to the 2010 ALT Policy Board, which will take place at the London School of Economics, Holborn, London, WC2A 2AE, between 10.30 and 15.30 on Friday 18 June 2010.

The theme of the Policy Board will be "Technology in Learning and Teaching, an Enabler or a Tax?".

At the time of writing, confirmed contributors, in alphabetical order, are:

- Scott Anderberg, Director of eLearning Solutions, Pearson eCollege;
- Professor Dame Wendy Hall, FRS FREng, Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton;
- Professor Janet Hartley, Pro-Director, Teaching and Learning, LSE;
- Sarah Jones, Chief Executive of Ufi/learndirect;
- Terry Mayes, Emeritus Professor and past Head of Academic Practice at Glasgow Caledonian University;
- Sir Tim O'Shea, Principal of the University of Edinburgh and Chair of JISC;
- Jane Williams, Executive Director for Further Education, Skills and 14-19 at Becta;
- Ewart Wooldridge CBE, Chief Executive of the Leadership Foundation for Higher Education.

To book your representative's place at the Policy Board, please complete the form at http://tinyurl.com/ALT2010PB. The deadline for bookings is Monday 7 June 2010, but places will be filled on a first come first served basis, so we advise early booking. Joining instructions will be issued by email during week beginning 7 June.

Yours sincerely,

Seb Schmoller

Seb Schmoller, Chief Executive

Notes

1. ALT's Constitution states: "The Charity shall have a Policy Board, consisting of representatives appointed by the organisational and sponsoring members, which shall meet periodically to consider general policy issues for the Charity and recommend action for consideration by the Central Executive Committee." The Policy Board (which we convene periodically) gives one representative from each of our organisational and sponsoring members an opportunity to get together to influence ALT's direction and to share perspectives generally. ALT's 3 year strategy is undergoing review at the moment and the output from the Policy Board will strongly influence the revised strategy, due to be finalised in November 2010, to take effect from February 2011.

2. The Trustees of ALT gratefully acknowledge the financial support of Pearson, without which the 2010 ALT Policy Board would not have been organised. To find out more about Pearson go to www.pearsonville.com or call Pearson's Learning Solutions group at 0207 0102660.

Registered Charity No: 1063519

Central Executive Committee: Liz Bennett, Haydn Blackey, John Cook, Linda Creanor, David Dyet, Carol Higgison, Liz Masterman, Dick Moore, John Phelps, Fred Pickering, Steve Ryan, Gilly Salmon Nicola Whitton.

ALT Ambassadors*: Dame Wendy Hall DBE FREng FRS, Professor of Computer Science at the University of Southampton; Terry Mayes, Emeritus Professor at Glasgow Caledonian University; John Taylor, Principal of Doncaster College, and past member of JISC and Chair of the Becta Board.

* Ambassadors provide informal advice to ALT on matters within their area of interest, and act as advocates for ALT.

Registered address:

Gipsy Lane
Headington
Oxford OX3 0BP, UK
Phone: + 44 (0)1865 484125
Fax: + 44 (0)1865 484165
Email: admin@alt.ac.uk
http://www.alt.ac.uk